Whitchurch Museum & Archives is a registered charity that leases 12 St Mary’s Street from Whitchurch Town Council. This group of volunteers runs the accredited museum and cares for the collection on behalf of local people and the wider community. They are also involved in a broad variety of projects that explore the history of Whitchurch and its hinterland.
Previous Projects include
SALOP FIRE INSURANCE RECORDS – extracting information on all Whitchurch policies
October 10th 1789 Mr James Joyce of Whitchurch in the County of Salop, Alemaker, desires to insure. On his house, shop and brewhouse adjoining in his own occupation situate in the High Street in Whitchurch aforesaid. Timber and tiled. House, shop and brewhouse adjoining in the tenure of Thomas Overton, grocer. Timber and tiled.Two stables, a warehouse and granary under one roof near in the tenure of Mrs Cross, Innholder and the said Messrs. Overton and Joyce. Brick and tiled.
EDUCATION OF THE WHITCHURCH WORKING MAN 1850 to 1914 – identifying where evening classes were held in the town
(1851 Directory) The News and Reading Room is held in a commodious and neatly fitted up room in the Market Hall. It is under the management of a committee of gentlemen and supported by annual subscriptions
APPRENTICE RECORDS – compiling list of all masters and apprentices from the wider Whitchurch area
Date Master’ s name Master’s abode Occupation
8/3/1711 George Simcoe Whitchurch, Salop Cordwainer
Apprentice’s name Apprentice’s father’s information
Robert Colley Richard Colley, yeoman of Wrenbury, Cheshire
Research projects use internet and archival resources to further the knowledge of the local area. The resulting information is used to create displays, exhibitions and web pages, all of which are accessible to the general public
We have created a number of searchable databases which the public are free to consult.